Independent Cities

Independent cities are found in Virginia, Nevada and the District of Columbia.  These are cities which by history, tradition or law that are not a part of the surrounding counties.  The USA-CA rules say that if you work a station which is located within any Independent city, you may count that contact for any one of the counties which border that city.  This may be done ONE time only. 

In most cases, the city is completely surrounded by the county and you must use that county.  Therefore, if an independent city borders two or more counties, you get to choose the one you wish to count, but any further contacts with that city may NOT be counted for any other surrounding county.



Nevada Carson City Douglas, Lyon, Story, Washoe
District of Columbia District of Columbia Montgomery, Prince George in Maryland
Virginia Alexandria Arlington or Fairfax
Bedford Bedford
Bristol Washington
Buena Vista Rockbridge
Charlottesville Albermarle
Chesapeake Isle of Wight
Clifton Forge Alleghany
Colonial Heights Chesterfield or Prince George
Covington Alleghany
Danville Pittsylvania
Emporia Greensville
Fairfax Fairfax
Falls Church Fairfax
Fort Monroe York
Franklin Southampton
Fredericksburg Spotsylvania
Galax Carroll or Grayson
Hampton York
Harrisonburg Rockingham
Hopewell Prince George
Lexington Rockbridge
Lynchburg Amherst, Bedford or Campbell
Manassas Prince William
Manassas Park Prince William
Martinsville Henry
Newport News York
Norfolk Isle of Wight
Norton Wise
Petersburg Chesterfield, Dinwiddie or Prince George
Poquoson York
Portsmouth Isle of Wight
Radford Montgomery
Richmond Chesterfield or Henrico
Roanoke Roanoke
Salem Roanoke
South Boston Halifax
Staunton Augusta
Suffolk Isle of Wight or Southampton
Virginia Beach Isle of Wight
Waynesboro Augusta
Williamsburg James City
Winchester Frederick